Skip to Content

What is the highest rank in the Army?

The highest active rank in the United States Army is the General of the Army. To attain this rank, a military officer must be selected by the president and confirmed by the US Senate. The General of the Army is the highest possible rank that a commissioned officer in the US Army can achieve.

The rank is considered equivalent to the rank of Fleet Admiral in the US Navy, General of the Air Force in the US Air Force, and General of the Marine Corps in the US Marines. The rank of General of the Army was first authorized in July 1866 and is only held in times of war.

The most recent holder of this rank was General of the Army George C. Marshall, who used the rank while serving as Chief of Staff of the United States Army during World War II.

What is a 7 star general?

A 7 star general is an embellished and honorary military rank. The rank has never been officially created and has only been awarded on a handful of occasions. Generally, a 7 star general designation is reserved for Generals of the Armies or Field Marshals – officers of the highest seniority and influence in their respective branch of service.

There were only three people to ever officially hold the designation of a 7 star general – George Washington, John J. Pershing, and Omar Bradley.

George Washington was the only officer to ever receive the title of “General of the Armies of the United States” in 1979. It was an honorary rank bestowed upon him by Congress for his leadership as the Commander in Chief of the Continental Army during the Revolutionary War.

John J. Pershing also received the same honor in 1919 for his exceptional service as a Commander of the American Expeditionary Forces in World War I. Bradley received the same honor in 1950 for his role in leading the United States Army throughout World War II.

Despite there being no concrete list of requirements to receive this honorary rank, the three 7 star generals achieved great levels of success throughout their military careers. Aside from the illustrious rank, the U.

S Army also awards the title of General of the Armies to commemorate their service.

WHO WAS LAST 5 star general?

The last 5 star general in the United States was General of the Army Omar Bradley. He served as Chief of Staff of the United States Army from August 1945 until August 1948 and held the rank of General of the Army from 1945 until his retirement from active service in August 1953.

His five-star rank was retired after he left the army due to a law limiting the number of 5 star officers. General Omar Bradley is generally credited for helping to develop and maintain the post-war peace in Europe following WWII.

He was well known for having a deep respect for military personnel and service members and was known to be skilled in diplomacy and negotiation. He passed away in 1981 at the age of 88.

How many 5 star generals are there today?

As of October 2020, there are currently nine 5-star Generals in the United States. The title of General of the Army, also known as a 5-star General, was initially awarded during World War II to five individuals: General of the Army George C.

Marshall, General of the Army Douglas MacArthur, General of the Army Dwight D. Eisenhower, General of the Army Henry H. Arnold, and General of the Army Omar N. Bradley. Since then, four more individuals have been elevated to the rank of 5-Star General: General of the Army Lyman L.

Lemnitzer, General of the Army Maxwell D. Taylor, Admiral of the Navy Ernest J. King, and General of the Air Force George B. Simler. With the passing of General of the Army Omar N. Bradley in 1981, the number of U.

S. 5-star Generals dropped to five until 2016, when then-U. S. Army Chief of Staff, General Martin E. Dempsey, was promoted to the rank of 5-star General. As of the present day, there are nine 5-star Generals in the United States.

What are Army ranks from highest to lowest?

The ranks of the United States Army, from highest to lowest, are as follows:

General of the Army


Lieutenant General

Major General

Brigadier General


Lieutenant Colonel



First Lieutenant

Second Lieutenant

Warrant Officer 1

Chief Warrant Officer 2

Chief Warrant Officer 3

Chief Warrant Officer 4

Chief Warrant Officer 5

Sergeant Major of the Army

Command Sergeant Major

Sergeant Major

First Sergeant

Master Sergeant

Sergeant First Class

Staff Sergeant




Private First Class


What is the lowest US Army rank?

The lowest US Army rank is Private, often abbreviated as Pvt. The rank of Private is the first enlisted rank and is sometimes referred to as the “lowest of the low” in terms of military hierarchy due to its position at the bottom of the rank structure.

This rank is attained by completing basic training and other requirements. Privates have the lowest level of authority and responsibility within the United States Armed Forces, and they are typically assigned to basic training and combat units.

They are usually supervised and instructed by Sergeants, who are a higher rank. Privates can move up in rank with additional training and experience.